OSCEOLA COUNTY PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION

The Osceola County Public Safety Commission met in the meeting room at the Osceola County Public Safety building, Sibley, Iowa on Wednesday, September 11, 2024 at 5:30 P.M. for their regular monthly meeting.

MEMBERS PRESENT WERE: Sheriff Kevin Wollmuth, Jerry Helmers, Russ Meier, Paul Heitritter, Jerry Johnson, Arlyn Pedley, Sec. Brenda Hibbing – Absent – LeRoy DeBoer, Lynelle Thiner, Patrick DeVries

Chairman Arlyn Pedley called the meeting to order at 5:30 P.M.

Motion was made by Jerry Johnson and seconded by Russ Meier to approve the agenda; which was emailed prior to the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Jerry Helmers and seconded by Paul Heitritter to approve the minutes of the August 14, 2024 meeting; which were emailed prior to the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Claims were reviewed and discussed. Motion by Jerry Johnson and seconded by Jerry Helmers to approve the claims for payment. Motion carried unanimously.

Sheriff Wollmuth presented information on the "HEAT" team. The team is like a SWAT team. They have all the best and latest equipment, along with training to assist in high-risk situations. The annual fee to be a member is \$2,806.06 per year; if we are not a member it costs \$2,000 just to have them come out, along with \$25 per person, per hour. Teams closest to us are located in O'Brien County, and Dickinson County. Motion was made by Jerry Johnson and seconded by Russ Meier to become members. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Russ Meier and seconded by Paul Heitritter to set the next meeting for October 9, 2024 at 5:30 P.M. Motion carried unanimously.

With no further discussion, Jerry Helmers made a motion to adjourn at 5:44 P.M., which was seconded by Jerry Johnson. Motion carried unanimously.

Chairman Arlyn Pedley

Respectfully submitted by Brenda Hibbing