## OSCEOLA COUNTY PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION

The Osceola County Public Safety Commission met in the meeting room at the Osceola County Public Safety building, Sibley, Iowa on Wednesday, January 10, 2024 at 5:30 P.M. for their regular monthly meeting.

**MEMBERS PRESENT WERE:** Sheriff Kevin Wollmuth, Jerry Helmers, LeRoy DeBoer, Russ Meier, Mike Wynja, Lynelle Thiner, Jerry Johnson, Arlyn Pedley, Sec. Brenda Hibbing – Absent – Patrick DeVries, Paul Heitritter

Chairman Arlyn Pedley called the meeting to order at 5:30 P.M.

Motion was made by Jerry Johnson and seconded by LeRoy DeBoer to approve the agenda, which was emailed prior to the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Lynelle Thiner and seconded by Russ Meier to approve the minutes of the December 13, 2023 meeting; which were emailed prior to the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Jerry Helmers and seconded by Lynelle Thiner to retain Arlyn Pedley as Chairman of the Commission for 2024 along with Jerry Johnson as Vice-Chairman for 2024. Motion carried unanimously. Motion by Jerry Helmers and seconded by Lynelle Thiner to appoint Becky Marco the County Treasurer as treasurer of the Commission. Motion carried unanimously.

Claims were reviewed and discussed. Motion by LeRoy DeBoer and seconded by Russ Meier to approve the claims for payment. Motion carried unanimously.

The 2<sup>nd</sup> Quarter Quarterly (Oct, Nov, Dec 2023) was reviewed. Motion by Jerry Johnson to approve the quarterly and seconded by Jerry Helmers. Motion carried unanimously.

Sheriff Wollmuth requested approval of the 28E Drug Task Force agreement with the addition of the Milford Police Department and the Kossuth County Sheriff's Office. Motion by Jerry Johnson and seconded by Russ Meier to approve the addition. Motion carried unanimously.

Sheriff Wollmuth presented the proposed 2024/2025 PS budget totaling \$1,511,477. The union employees' wages have not been decided as of yet. He also included each entities figure.

Motion was made by Russ Meier and seconded by LeRoy DeBoer to set the next meeting for February 14, 2024 at 5:30 P.M. Motion carried unanimously.

With no further discussion, Jerry Johnson made a motion to adjourn at 5:41 P.M., which was seconded by Lynelle Thiner. Motion carried unanimously.

Chairman Arlyn Pedley

Respectfully submitted by Brenda Hibbing